Threaded on time

Straws like tame lightnings lie about the grass
And hang zigzag on hedges. Green as glass
The water in the horse-trough shines.
Nine ducks go wobbling by in two straight lines.

I lie, not thinking, in the cool, soft grass,
Afraid of where a thought might take me – as
This grasshopper with plated face
Unfolds his legs and finds himself in space.

Self under self, a pile of selves I stand
Threaded on time, and with metaphysic hand
Lift the farm like a lid and see
Farm within farm, and in the centre, me.

Summer Farm, Norman MacCaig

800px-Wheatstacks_(End_of_Summer),_1890-91_(190_Kb);_Oil_on_canvas,_60_x_100_cm_(23_5-8_x_39_3-8_in),_The_Art_Institute_of_Chicago

‘Stacks of Wheat’ by Claude Monet.

2 thoughts on “Threaded on time

    • I’ve actually never written any of my own poetry! I’ve only ever dabbled in creative writing before but it’s something I’m really interested in trying, so hopefully I’ll be able to take a class one day :). If I did write anything creatively I’d be sure to share it here, as it’s great receiving feedback from like-minded writers like yourself!
      Thanks very much for your comment :).

Leave a Reply

